Dimitar Berbatov: The Premier League’s most efficient goalscorer?

14 May

Van Persie may have scored more but Cisse was more efficient in front of goal

With the 2011-2012 Premier League season reaching its conclusion yesterday, Robin Van Persie, Arsenal’s talismanic forward, topped the seasons scoring chart with 30 league goals in just 37 games played. The Dutch international was closely followed by Man Utd’s Wayne Rooney with 27, while Man City’s Sergio Aguero managed to bag 23 goals in only his first season in the Premier League. Unlike recent seasons, the scoring charts were dominated by traditional forwards and strikers. As the list below demonstrates only one midfielder, Fulham’s Clint Dempsey, managed to score more than 15 league goals this season.

  • Robin Van Persie (Arsenal) 30 goals
  • Wayne Rooney (Man Utd) 27 goals
  • Sergio Aguero (Man City) 23 goals
  • Emanuel Adebayor (Tottenham) 17 goals
  • Clint Dempsey (Fulham) 17 goals
  • Yakubu (Blackburn) 17 goals
  • Demba Ba (Newcastle) 16 goals
  • Grant Holt (Norwich) 15 goals
  • Edin Dzeko (Man City) 14 goals
  • Mario Balotelli (Man City) 13 goals
  • Papiss Cisse (Newcastle) 13 goals
  • Steven Fletcher (Wolves) 12 goals
  • Danny Graham (Swansea) 12 goals
  • Jermain Defoe (Tottenham) 11 goals
  • Frank Lampard (Chelsea) 11 goals

While total goals per season are an obvious indicator of a players scoring prowess, there are other key metrics that can, in some eyes, better determine a player’s proficiency in front of goal. Primary among these is goals per minute. The following is a list of leading players in this seasons English Premier League adjusted to goals per minute.

  1. Dimitar Berbatov (Man Utd) 80 minutes
  2. Papiss Cisse (Newcastle) 88 minutes
  3. Mario Balotelli (Man City) 107 minutes
  4. Wayne Rooney (Man Utd) 110 minutes
  5. Nikica Jelavic (Everton) 111 minutes
  6. Edin Dzeko (Man City) 115 minutes
  7. Sergio Aguero (Man City) 116 minutes
  8. Robin Van Persie (Arsenal) 117 minutes
  9. Jermain Defoe (Tottenham) 128 minutes
  10. Yakubu (Blackburn) 150 minutes
  11. Javier Hernandez (Man Utd) 155 minutes
  12. Grant Holt (Norwich) 159 minutes
  13. Pavel Pogrebynak (Fulham) 163 minutes
  14. Emanuel Adebayor (Tottenham) 174 minutes
  15. Demba Ba (Newcastle) 177 minutes
  16. Clint Dempsey (Fulham) 206 minutes
  17. Steven Fletcher  (Wolves) 206 minutes

Selected Others of Note;

  • Fernando Torres (Chelsea) 340 minutes
  • Daniel Sturridge (Chelsea) 212 minutes
  • Frank Lampard (Chelsea) 216 minutes
  • Luis Suarez (Liverpool) 242 minutes
  • Andy Carroll (Liverpool) 554 minutes
  • Craig Bellamy (Liverpool) 223 minutes
  • Danny Graham (Swansea) 247 minutes

As the list clearly demonstrates, players with an efficient strike rate per minute are crucial to league success. Of the top eleven players listed, six played for the top two clubs, Manchester United and Manchester City. The list also confirms the widely held assumption that Newcastle’s Papiss Cisse, a £10 million transfer from Freiburg, was one of, if not, the best buy this season. On the flip side, with just one goal every 554 minutes, Liverpool’s Andy Carroll is increasingly looking like one of the greatest flops in Premier League history.


One Response to “Dimitar Berbatov: The Premier League’s most efficient goalscorer?”

  1. Tom Gillies July 2, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    Bahahahahahah CARROLL SUCKS!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: